Detoxing Your Closet

closet

Lately I have been all about downsizing my closet. A couple bags worth of clothing less, I thought I would share with you guys some tips on how to make that happen. Here are the methods I use for minimizing my closet.

►4 Pile Technique
Pile 1: What you want to keep and feel good in
Pile 2: What you are undecided upon and would like to give one more chance. (If in three months you don’t touch anything in this pile, discard.)
Pile 3: What you don’t want but feel you can donate away
Pile 4: What you are going to trash because of its bad condition

►One-In-One-Out Rule
Once I have my closet how I want it, in order to keep it to a reasonable size I use the one-in-one-out rule where if I want to buy something I have to make sure that I have something I don’t want to replace it with otherwise I obviously don’t want it enough and it doesn’t make the cut.

►Color-Coordinating
Color coordinately, while it seems tedious at first, and it is, will actually save you time and energy in the end. While it takes a bit to get it started, it will pay off because you are then able to quickly identify where the item you are looking for is in your closet.

►Huggable Hangers
These are slim, velvet hangers that ensure that your clothes don’t fall off and helps to maximize closet space.

That’s it! It does seem overwhelming at first but once you get the hang of it, it is certainty something you can do seasonally. It you have any others tips, let me know in a comment below.

XOXO,

10 thoughts on “Detoxing Your Closet

  1. I’ve been doing the exact same thing with my closet. I have a few key pieces now for the summer and am concentrating on building my accessories/loungewear section of my wardrobe!

  2. That photo is absolutely inspiring. I DO keep my clothes color-coded, but I’m such a clothes horse that half the time I don’t even remember that I own certain pieces. I think a little purge now and then goes a long way in helping me appreciate how much I already own. & the huggable hangers … Great tip!! 🙂

  3. Oh man, I need these tips so much! I find it really difficult given away things.. I always say I will wear it some day.. It’s tough, you know..

    Oh Btw, is that really your closet??? Your room looks lovely!

Leave a Reply

