The Beauty Blogger Tag

1. Why did you start blogging and how long have you been blogging for?
I actually started blogging because of a school project. The objective of the project was to do something that would get us out of our comfort zones, and so I thought blogging would be a really great way to come out of my shell and interact with people not just around me but around the world as well. I started blogging April of 2014, so I have been blogging for about a year and a half; more or less.

2. Whose blog did you fall in love with first?
The first blog I fell in love with and got me inspired was MakeupbyTiffanyD. I like how she incorporates makeup, fashion, home decor, and food so it truly is “One girl’s thoughts on all things beauty.”

3. What was the first blogsphere hyped about product that you bought? Was it worth the hype?
The first product I brought per the hype of beauty bloggers was the Original Naked Palette and boy am I glad I did. This palette first released about 6 years ago, and though I’ve had it for only about a year I still reach for it everyday. It’s so versatile and you can never have too much neutrals, at least in my opinion.

4. What are your five favorite things about blogging and being a beauty blogger?
► This little space on the internet gives me the chance to express myself and I feel like I’m satisfying my creative side.
► I’d been inspired by other bloggers and their passion for beauty, which meant that I’ve picked up products I wouldn’t have ordinarily.
► One thing that I’ve found absolutely incredible is the ability to network with other fellow bloggers and companies.
► My favorite things about blogging is the community. I’ve been able to meet some fantastic people who are like-minded and enjoy similar things to myself.
► The blogging community has made it possible for me to meet some wonderful people who I would absolutely consider friends.

5. What have you learnt from being a beauty blogger?
Comparing kills. Focus on what you do well and improve on that. Do not compare your 1 year old blog to one that has been up 5 years and counting. Everybody starts somewhere and growth takes time, it’s not an overnight happening.

6. Have you changed anything since becoming a beauty blogger?
Since I am constantly trying out new makeup, I really have to be conscious of my skin. I am always amending my skincare routine to meet what my skin needs. Now that I am wearing makeup I have to devote attention to being aware of the ingredients that I put on my face.

7. Is there any advice that you would give beauty bloggers just starting out?
Come up with a catchy domain name for your blog. A domain name builds your brand. There are a lot of elements that go into finding the perfect domain name. Get creative and remember that the domain you pick today doesn’t have to be the one you stick with forever. It’s all a part of an ongoing branding effort that you may change and adjust along the way.

8. What are your top five makeup brands?
►Sephora: This beauty-retail features many brands, old and new, and across many product categories.
► MAC: This company combines both trends and timeless beauty.
► Nars: Not only are their beauty products amazing, I especially love their minimal design icon.
► Urban Decay: This brand is “beauty with an edge”. Perfect for those who like to express their individuality.
► Tarte: Their chic packaging combined with their skin invigorating products make them the leader of eco-chic beauty.

9. Recommend your top five beauty products?
Original Urban Decay Naked palette: I love this and find a reason to use it everyday.
► MAC ‘Mineralize’ Skinfinish Natural: My go-to touch up powder.
Glamglow Supermud Clearing Treatment Mask: I love using this after a bad breakout because it really draws out the impurities to reveal newer looking skin.
► St. Ives Fresh Skin Apricot Scrub: I use this everyday and it really helps to increase cell turnover.
 Soap & Glory The Righteous Butter Body Butter: I love using this is the winter months because it is super hydrating and smells heavenly.

And that completes the tag! I hope you guys enjoyed it and I tag you guys to do it as well. If you do, leave your link of it in the comments so I can check it out.

17 thoughts on “The Beauty Blogger Tag

  1. Great post! I especially like your advice on creating your own brand though blogging, so true! I’ve seen many blogs that are born as a school assignment and blossom into something wonderful, it’s so great! Thanks for the interesting read. XO- Ashleysita (thatLAwriter.com)

    1. **Whoops, my first comment had a typo :X Great post! I especially like your advice on creating your own brand through blogging, so true! I’ve seen many blogs that are born as a school assignment and blossom into something wonderful, it’s so great! Thanks for the interesting read. XO- Ashleysita (thatLAwriter.com)

  2. So many great points you make! I remember in the beginning comparing a lot but now I have just eased up on it all and blog when I feel inspired or dying to share ❤️ xoxo Janet

  3. Great post! Thank you for sharing! I’m a big fan of Soap and Glory – my other half asks me to buy the shower gel so he can use it too!

Leave a Reply

